Accueil > ACTUALITÉS > EUROPEAN PRIZE FOR LITERATURE :the Laureates since 2005

the Laureates since 2005

mercredi 19 novembre 2014

JON FOSSE is the 10th Laureate since the creation of the European Prize for Literature in 2005. Previous recipients of the Prize are : 2005, Antonio Gamoneda (Spain) • 2006, Bo Carpelan (Finland) • 2007, Tadeusz Różewicz (Poland) • 2008, Tankred Dorst (Germany) • 2009, Kiki Dimoula (Greece) • 2010, Tony Harrison (Great Britain) • 2011, Drago Jančar (Slovenia) • 2012, Vladimir Makanine (Russia) • 2013, Erri De Luca (Italy).

The idea of a European Prize for Literature is both simple and bold : to contribute to a better mutual understanding of the peoples of Europe through the iconic personalities of their contemporary culture, those who today like Victor Hugo in his time are a living symbol thereof. It is by putting a face on each European country, that of its most famous contemporary writer, that our countries will best be able to respect, and to understand each other.

Every year the European Prize for literature honours for the entire body of his, or her work a European writer of international stature, with the view to highlight in a highly symbolic venue the cultural importance of Europe. The award is based on criteria of quality and of exemplarity, which are as demanding as those for the Nobel Prize for Literature.